Holy Orders

God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, look upon this your servant and grant him the Spirit of grace and the counsel of a presbyter, so that he may support and govern your people with a pure heart.”– The Apostolic Tradition by St. Hippolytus, 215AD

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

Sacred ministers, those who serve the spiritual needs of others in the person of Christ, in the Catholic Church are ordained by a bishop and by means of a special sacrament called Holy Orders, which creates the hierarchy of deacon, priest and bishop.

This sacrament can be received only once, but a man may also be ordained to a higher order up to the third degree. A man must first be ordained a deacon before being ordained a priest, and he must be ordained a deacon, and then a priest before being ordained a bishop.

Jesus Christ instituted the Sacrament of Holy Orders at the Last Supper simultaneously with His institution of the Sacrament of Holy Eucharist. In order to be able to change bread and wine into the Body and Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Christ, you need priests who have been given this power by virtue of their ordination.

Questions about Holy Orders

Who can I talk to about becoming a priest?

If you are a single, baptized man and wonder if God may be calling you to be His priest, please contact our Pastor, Father Seejo Thandiackal, or call the Louisville Archdiocesan Communications Office at (502) 636-0296 or email: pastoral@archlou.org

Who can I talk to about becoming a deacon?

If you are a single or married baptized man who would like to know more about becoming a permanent deacon at St. Martha, you can contact the parish office at 502-491-8535.